Leveraging Industry Standards in EAM Systems

By Ed O'Brien

ARC Report Abstract


Industry standards help create a common vocabulary and methodology to share information across organizations.  For enterprise asset management (EAM), it’s critical to use industry standards in EAM to create standard classifications for work planning and execution, including parts and inventory management.  Today’s increasing digitalization efforts can pro-vide greater opportunities for industrial, transportation- and infrastructure-related organizations to incorporate industry standards in both traditional horizontal EAM systems and vertical variants.

Incorporating Industry Standards in EAM as Part of Digitalization

With today’s industrial organizations looking for ways to share best practices, there is an increasing need for standardized data collection and reporting.  Such information can provide a foundation to enable organizations to increase maintenance and operations efficiencies and effectiveness.  Some examples follow. 

ISO 55000 Series for Maintenance and Operations Teams

The broadly applicable ISO 55000 series of standards can help a wide variety of organizations deliver added value to maintenance and operations teams. These standards can apply to private- and public-sector businesses, product manufacturing, utilities, service providers, regulated and unregulated environments, and other functions.

The ISO 55000 series of standards were developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Technical Committee (TC) 251, Asset Management. ASTM International is the ANSI-accredited, U.S. Technical Advisory Group (TAG) administrator for TC 251.

The guide explains the role of the three standards within the ISO 55000 family and provides simple practical advice and examples of asset management within different environments. It identifies the potential bene-fits for adopting the following standards:

  • ISO 55000: Asset Management Overview, Principles, and Terminology
  • ISO 55001: Asset Management Systems and Requirements
  • ISO 55002: Asset Management Systems Guidelines for the Application of ISO 55001

APTA Transit Asset Management Framework

With many transit agencies interested in the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) State of Good Repair initiative, the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) offers a recommended practice for transit operators.  The Framework is not meant to be a step-by-step guide for meeting the criteria.  Instead, it provides a way to document the experience of agencies that have found measures that work in a re-al-world setting.

The document provides guidance on communicating an agency’s transit asset management plan to achieve a state of good repair (SGR) transit asset management (TAM) plan.  This recommended practice identifies a method a transit organization could use to simplify its TAM plan communication efforts, including examples that support best practices and federal requirements.  The guide offers insight into currently available materials and provides some examples of real-world experience in implementing previous initiatives.

standards in EAM ATA%20VMRS%20Codes%20Can%20Help%20Maintenance%20Teams%20Keep%20Equipment%20Rolling%20Smoothly.JPG

ATA VMRS 2000 Reporting Standards for Vehicle Maintenance 

The American Trucking Associations Vehicle Maintenance Reporting Standards (ATA VMRS) were developed primarily with rolling stock in mind.  It provides details related to trucks, tractors, trailers, and other vehicles, as well as associated equipment, assemblies, and subassemblies.   

The primary VMRS categories include such information as:

  • VMRS Equipment Master Record: This includes information about the specifications for a piece of equipment, including engines, transmissions, axles, bodies, refrigeration units, tailgates, and other equipment, depending on the type of asset.
  • Equipment Vocation Codes: Vocation codes are used to identify the primary activity or vocation of a piece of equipment.  A wide range of vocations are identified.  Such activities as linehaul, pickup and delivery, combination service, heavy haul, refuse, and mining are examples of vocation code types.
  • Reason for Repair Codes: These codes are used to identify repair reason types.  These reasons include preventive maintenance, routine maintenance, driver’s report, breakdown, management decision, outside influence, etc.
  • Work Accomplished Codes: This category is used to identify what tasks were performed on the piece of equipment.
  • Failure Code: Information about why a part or assembly failed.


ARC Advisory Group clients can view the complete report at ARC Client Portal


If you would like to buy this report or obtain information about how to become a client, please Contact Us

Keywords: Industry Standards, Digital Transformation, Enterprise Asset Management (EAM), Asset Performance Management (APM), Maintenance Management, ARC Advisory Group.




Engage with ARC Advisory Group